Writer’s Insecurities: How Self-Doubt Holds Me Back As A Writer

A Personal Journey to Break Free From the Fear of Writing

Fayzen K.
3 min readOct 10, 2024
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

I have a bundle of thoughts to write about and various genres that I want to explore, but every time I plan to write, anxiety or apprehension of not being able to justify my work holds me back.

Today, I have planned to write about all the insecurities that I face before finally mustering up the courage to publish something. I believe that sharing them would help me overcome it in some way.

“True strength lies in understanding and accepting our weaknesses.”

Self-doubt:

I read somebody’s article that had this line, “Every writer is a reader”. The first step is always reading, every writer takes inspiration from others' work. I read hundreds of meticulously written articles every week, and each of them brings a unique perspective and essence to the art of writing. However, whenever I try to write something, I often find myself comparing my work with theirs, hindering me from writing anything at all.

Lack of Metaphors:

It’s said that being eloquent and articulate is one of the best traits that a writer could have. The art of writing is effectively communicating your point to…

--

--

Fayzen K.

A young, passionate and an ambitious boy. Writes for fun, to express idea and above all, to embark on a journey while making friends on the way.